Connect with us


WFP awarded Nobel Peace Prize winner for efforts to fight starvation



WFP awarded Nobel Peace Prize winner for efforts to combat hunger

The Norwegian Nobel Committee introduced the United Nations’ World Food Programme because the recipient of it coveted Peace Prize on Friday for its “efforts to prevent use of hunger as a weapon of war”.

“For its effort to combat hunger, for its contribution to bettering conditions for peace in conflict affected areas and for acting as driving force in efforts to prevent the use of hunger as a weapon of war and conflict,” introduced the Nobel Prize Committee on Twitter. 

The UN Agency was established on the “behest of former US President Dwight Eisenhower” in 1961 as an experiment to offer meals assist by the UN system.

The WFP’s first check got here in September 1962 after an earthquake in northern Iran killed greater than 12,00 individuals.

Later, in 1963, the company launched its first growth programme in Sudan and in 1965 it was included as a “fully-fledged UN programme” withing the company to final “as long as multilateral food aid is found feasible and desirable”.

Today, the WFP is the “world’s largest humanitarian agency” which springs into motion when throughout disasters and works “tirelessly to bolster nutrition and food security”.

Taking to Twitter, WFP thanked the Nobel Committee for “honouring” it with the prize, including that it’s “powerful reminder to the world that peace and zero hunger go hand-in-hand”.

The Nobel Committee, in a press release, mentioned that it “wishes to turn the eyes of the world towards the millions of people who suffer from or face the threat of hunger” by awarding the company with the prize.

“The organisation contributes daily to advancing the fraternity of nations referred to in Alfred Nobel’s will. As the UN’s largest specialised agency, the World Food Programme is a modern version of the peace congresses that the Nobel Peace Prize is intended to promote,” mentioned the committee in a press release.

The Nobel prize — which consists of a gold medal, a diploma and a cheque for 10 million Swedish kronor ($1.1 million, 950,000 euros) — will probably be offered to the winners on December 10 — the anniversary of the 1896 dying of Swedish industrialist and philanthropist Alfred Nobel, who created the awards in his will.

Depending on the coronavirus restrictions in place on the time, it should both be awarded in-person at a scaled-back ceremony in Oslo, or remotely in a web based ceremony.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020 NEWSZWEB. All Right Reserved