Connect with us


Quaid-e-Azam Trophy: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Central Punjab share win after tie



Quaid-e-Azam Trophy: Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Central Punjab share win after tie

KARACHI: Central Punjab (CP) and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) on Tuesday shared the profitable title for the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2020-21 as the ultimate match of Pakistan’s premier home collection entered the file e book because the first-ever tied ultimate within the historical past of cricket’s first-class tournaments.

With 356 runs to win, Central Punjab fought again to stage 249-9 to equal the scores earlier than the final man Waqas Maqsood was caught at mid-on by Kamran Ghulam off Sajid Khan.

The action-packed ultimate day began with Central Punjab having 140-2 on the scoreboard, requiring one other 216 runs to defend the title.

However, the defending champion couldn’t begin the day because it had deliberate and misplaced 4 wickets within the first session to wrestle at 202 runs for six wickets and misplaced one other two wickets within the first hour after the lunch.

With CP trailing at 249 for 8, KP appeared sure to win the title. But Hassan Ali – the captain of Central Punjab – stood in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s solution to the title, scoring 70 runs for the ninth wicket with Ahmed Safi Abdullah (35 off 23) and 36 runs for the tenth wicket with Waqas Maqsood.

Hassan Ali accomplished his century off 58 deliveries in 94 minutes.

It was over quantity 118th of CP’s innings when Waqas ran two fast runs to stage the rating. For the subsequent ball, an excited Waqas aimed to play a profitable shot however was caught by Kamran Ghulam to succeed in an historic and sudden finish to the ultimate.

The match ended as tie and with each the groups having their first innings bonus factors levelled at 6-all, they each had been declared joint winners of the Quaid e Azam Trophy.

Hassan Ali was adjudged the person of the match for his 106 off 61 that included 7 sixes and 10 fours. He was additionally declared the person of the match for his flamboyant efficiency all through the match.

Kamran Ghulam, Rehan Afridi and Sajid Khan – all from KP – had been respectively declared the most effective batsman, finest wicket-keeper, and finest bowler of the match.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2020 NEWSZWEB. All Right Reserved